

THE CITY OF SAN DIEGO

## TODD GLORIA Mayor

## M E M O R A N D U M

DATE: May 9, 2023

TO: Honorable Council President Sean Elo-Rivera Honorable Councilmembers

Mayor Todd Gloria FROM:

SUBJECT: Appointments to the Youth Commission

I am appointing Kayla Ruthven and Maya Isabel Cohen-Goncalves to the Youth Commission.

Ms. Ruthven is a Junior at Point Loma High School and will soon serve as the Associated Student Body (ASB) President. She has been a part of ASB since her freshman year and is also an Aaron Price Fellow. She is a Daisy Cadet in Girl Scouts, a representative for the California Scholarship Federation, and a part of the San Diego Zoo Corps. Ms. Ruthven is also a part of several different clubs at her school, including Place for Peace Club, Green Peace Club, Zero Waste Club, Women in Stem Club, and Share Club. Ms. Ruthven is being appointed to a two-year term ending July 1, 2024, in the District 2 Representative Seat.

Ms. Cohen-Goncalves is currently a Junior at Point Loma High School and is the Junior Class President. She has been a part of the Associated Student Body (ASB) since her freshman year and is also the President of the Choose Kindness Club. Ms. Cohen is also a member of the California Scholarship Federation, the Green Peace Club, and volunteers with the Animal Farm Refuge Volunteers. She is being appointed to a two-year term ending July 1, 2024, in the District 2 Representative Seat.

I thank Councilmember Campbell for these nominations, and Ms. Ruthven and Ms. Cohen for their willingness to serve in these capacities.

MTG:cwd

Page 2 Honorable Sean Elo-Rivera, Council President Honorable Councilmembers

cc: Honorable Mara Elliott, City Attorney Diana Fuentes, Interim City Clerk Charles Modica, Independent Budget Analyst