

City of San Diego Commission for Arts and Culture PUBLIC ART COMMITTEE AGENDA

City Administration Building 12th floor Conference Room B 202 W C Street, San Diego, CA 92101 Hyperlink to attend the meeting at its scheduled time available here

Friday, March 14, 2025

8:30 a.m. - 9:30 a.m.

8:30 a.m.	I.	Call to Order	Keith Opstad, Chair
8:35 a.m.	II.	Non-agenda Public Comment	
8:40 a.m.	III.	Chair's Reports A. Commission Business B. ACTION – January 10, 2025 Minutes C. Other Reports	
8:45 a.m.	IV.	Presentation – Preliminary Artwork Ideas for here comes the neighborhood: Encanto by Kaori Fukuyama, Roberto Salas, and Christopher Lloyd Tucker	Charles G. Miller, Senior Public Art Manager
9:15 a.m.	V.	Reports	Christine E. Jones, Chief of Civic Art Strategies
		A. Staff Reports	
		B. Committee Member Reports	
9:30 a.m.	VI.	Adjourn	

Meetings will be recorded. PUBLIC COMMENT: Any member of the public may address the Committee on any agenda item during agenda item public comment, or on any matter not presently pending or previously discussed at the Committee that is within the Committee's area of responsibility during non-agenda public comment. Each public comment speaker is limited to three (3) minutes. In addition to inperson attendance, members of the public may submit their comments via a public comment webform, or they may join the meeting as a "webinar attendee" at the link provided in the Commission or Committee meeting website. For members of the public wishing to address the Committee under Public Comment via the webform prior to the meeting, instructions for word limitations and deadlines will be noted on the webform. As required by the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA), requests for agenda information to be made available in alternative formats, and any requests for disability-related modifications or accommodations required to facilitate meeting participation, including requests for alternatives to observing meetings and offering public comment as noted above, may be made by contacting the City Clerk at (619) 533-4000 or mailto:cityclerk@sandiego.gov. The City is committed to resolving accessibility requests swiftly in order to maximize accessibility.



City of San Diego Commission for Arts and Culture

PUBLIC ART COMMITTEE (PAC)

MINUTES

Friday, January 10, 2025

Members Present
Keith Opstad, Chair
Amy Sanchez Arteaga
Dennis Doan
Wayne Holtan
Rachel Jans
Alessandra Moctezuma
Denise Rogers

Members Absent
Fritz Friedman, Vice Chair
Andrew Alcasid
Francisco Eme
Abe Hughes
Imani Robinson
Ann Bossler, Ex Officio

Staff Present Lara Bullock Christine E. Jones Charles G. Miller

- I. <u>Call to Order | View Here</u> Commissioner Keith Opstad called the City of San Diego (City) Commission for Arts and Culture's Public Art Committee (PAC) to order at 8:32 a.m. at the City Council Committee Room 12th Floor, City Administration Building, 202 C Street, San Diego, California 92101.
- II. Non-agenda Public Comment None
- III. Chair's Reports
 - A. Commission Business View Here
 - B. <u>ACTION December 13, 2024, Minutes | View Here Commissioner Keith Opstad introduced the item. Wayne Holtan made a motion to approve the PAC minutes of December 13, 2024. Commissioner Alessandra Moctezuma seconded the motion. The vote was 7-0-0; the motion passed.</u>

Yea: Sanchez Arteaga, Doan, Holtan, Jans, Moctezuma, Opstad, and Rogers (7)

Nay: (0)

Abstention: (0)

Recusal: (0)

C. Other Reports - None

IV. ACTION – Artist Selection Panel for the Ward Canyon Park Public Art Project | View Here — Commissioner Keith Opstad introduced the item. Denise Rogers made a motion to advise the City of San Diego Commission for Arts and Culture to recommend the following panelists for the Ward Canyon Park Public Art Project: 1) Commissioner Alessandra Moctezuma, for the seat of the Public Art Committee member, with Wayne Holtan as an alternate; 2) Kim Emerson for the seat of the Visual Art/Design Professional with recommended alternates, in no particular order, to serve as two of the five ad hoc artist selection panelists. Commissioner Dennis Doan seconded the

motion. The vote was 7-0-0; the motion passed.

Yea: Sanchez Arteaga, Doan, Holtan, Jans, Moctezuma, Opstad, and Rogers (7)

Nay: (0)

Abstention: Eme (0)

Recusal: (0)

V. Reports

A. <u>Staff Reports</u> – <u>View Here</u>

B. <u>Committee Member Reports</u> – <u>View Here</u>

VI. <u>Adjourn</u> – Commissioner Keith Opstad adjourned the meeting at 8:47 a.m.

