

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: January 10, 2025

CONTACT:

Chris Chan chancn@sandiego.gov

Council President Joe LaCava Unanimously Selected as First Vice-Chair of SANDAG

San Diego, CA – SANDAG's Board of Directors unanimously selected San Diego City Council President Joe LaCava to serve as their Vice-Chair.

Please see the following statement from First Vice-Chair LaCava:

"I'm grateful to my colleagues on SANDAG Board for unanimously electing me as their First Vice-Chair. I also congratulate Chair Lesa Heebner and Second Vice-Chair John Minto for being selected for their leadership positions.

"I look forward to collaborating with fellow board members and our regional partners to find solutions to our regional needs and improve the lives of people across San Diego County."

"My background as a civil engineer, land use consultant, and community advocate provide me decades of experience tackling capital projects that will lead us to a more sustainable future."

Council President LaCava has previously served as a board alternate, chair of the Regional Planning Committee, and member of the Shoreline Preservation Working Group. He also represents a district and city directly impacted by major regional projects including the LOSSAN Rail Realignment.

The Board of Directors serves as the governing body of SANDAG and is made up of elected mayors, councilmembers, and county supervisors that are appointed from each of the region's 19 local governments. The Board of Directors serves as the forum for bringing together local governments and

public agencies to plan, program, and implement cooperative comprehensive planning across the San Diego region.

###

Council President Joe LaCava represents San Diego's First Council District, which includes the communities of La Jolla, Pacific Beach, Carmel Valley, Del Mar Heights, Del Mar Mesa, Pacific Highlands Ranch, Torrey Hills, Torrey Pines, and a portion of University City west of the 1-5.