

Agenda

WEDNESDAY, November 20, 2024 In-Person Meeting, 6:00 p.m. – 7: 30 p.m. Location: San Diego Council Chamber s 202 C. Street, 12th Floor, SD, CA 92101

HRC Zoom Link

Commissioners: Olympia Beltran, Rickie Brown, Sara Brown, Faye Detsky-Weil, Yessica Diaz-Roman, Tyler Duncan, MH Fields, Julia Legaspi, April Purcell, Tootie Thomas, Ryan Trabuco, Daneyel Walker, Nicole Murray-Ramirez.

Staff Liaison Executive Director: Dr. Gerald Brown

Item 1: Call to Order: Chair Tootie Thomas

Item 2: Commissioner Roll Call

Vice Chair Tyler Duncan

Item 3: Commission's Minutes Chair Tootie Thomas

Item 4: Agenda/Non-agenda Public Comment Exec. Dir. Gerald Brown

Item 5: Commissioner Reports: Commissioners share what is going on in their communities, and respected City Council Districts. Commissioner Rickie Brown will address the Commission on planning for Black History Month.

Item 6: RUTH "Remember US The Holocaust" Founder Sandra Scheller January 12, 2025, La Jolla Riford Library -7555 Draper Avenue, La Jolla, CA.

Item 7: City of San Diego Title VI Program

Christiana Gauger
Chief Compliance Officer

Item 8: Subcommittee Reports

A. San Diego United Against Hate Week Success – Partnerships and Continuing the work.

B. Community Engagement Sub Committee **Chair Tootie Thomas** Motion: Expand the CEC overall work plan to incorporate Media Outreach. This would include (but, not limited to) updating Social Media, publishing a quarterly HRC Newsletter.

Item 9: Standing Committee- Discrimination and Equal Protection

Exec Dir. Gerald Brown

Documentation – Process and Procedures Training for Commissioners (Planned for Commission Retreat 2025)

Item 10: Executive Director Report

- A. Mayoral Appointment Elizabeth Fitzsimons
- **B.** Code of Conduct Completed Overview
- C. Election December 2025 Nominees Please see the end of this agenda for the Leadership Positions available.

Item 11: Chair Report Item 12: Vice Chair Report

Item 13: Secretary Report

Chair Tootie Thomas

Vice Chair Tyler Duncan

Secretary Ryan Trabuco

Item 14: Adjournment Motion to Adjourn

Next Meeting of the HRC December 19, 2024

San Diego Municipal Code:

The Commissioners shall elect a Chair from among their members. The Chair shall serve at the pleasure of the members but for no longer than three vears.

(f) The Commissioners may be removed for cause by a vote of a majority of the members of the City Council.

From Human Relations Commission's Bylaws:

3.10fficers

Officers shall be elected at the first Commission meeting of the calendar year for a term of one year. The officers of the Commission shall consist of a Chairperson (Chair) and a Vice Chairperson (Vice Chair). The Vice Chair will serve as Chair in the event of the absence or unavailability of the Chair. The Commission may also deem necessary to have a secretary as a third officer. Each officer is elected from among the members of the Commission and by a majority vote of the Commission. These positions are elected each year for a one-year term and can be re-elected for an additional one-year term. An officer may serve no more than two consecutive terms.

The Chair, Vice Chair and Secretary, along with the Executive Director, comprise the Executive Committee of the Commission. The Executive Committee sets the agenda for each meeting.

3.2 Officer Election Procedures

Any Commissioner interested in running for a Commission officer position shall notify the Executive Director or the Vice Chair sixty (60) days prior to officers' term limits. Notice of the slate of officers shall be presented to the Commission at its January meeting. Nominations will also be open to the floor at the January meeting and will be closed by voice vote. The elections shall be conducted utilizing the open ballot procedure. Newly elected officers will assume their office at the February meeting.

Should a vacancy occur in the position of Chair or Vice Chair before the term is completed, the Commission shall solicit nominations for the vacant position within thirty (30) days following the meeting at which the vacancy occurs. The office shall be filled by a majority vote of Commissioners within sixty (60) days after the vacancy occurs. The position shall be filled for the remainder of the unexpired term and until regularly scheduled elections are held.