Mira Mesa Community Planning Group Draft Meeting Minutes

Date/Time: Monday, May 20, 2024, 7:00pm

Location: Miramar College (English Building I Room 101A&B), 10440 Black Mountain Road, San Diego CA

92126

Attendees (17 Members): Bo Gibbons, Andrew Miklusicak, Lillith Nover, Nicholas Boechler, Chris Cate, Ria Otero, Joe Frichtel, Bari Vaz, Sean Tompkins, Dorothy Lorenz, Keith Flitner, Julia Schriber, Tiffany English, David Mandelbaum, Mike Linton, Phillip Linssen, Evan Cassolato.

(2 Members resigned - Harikishan Parekh and Ramon Bieri)

Call to Order/Confirm quorum: 7:00pm

- 1. Modifications to the Agenda No modifications to the agenda
- 2. Adopt Previous Meeting Minutes (Action) Quorum 11 members.
 - a. Minutes of April 15, 2024 meeting
 - b. 11 Approved, 0 Abstain, 0 Opposed
- 3. Non-Agenda Public Comments: 3 Minutes per speaker.
 - a. None.
- 4. Planning Group Member Comments
 - a. Joe Frichtel spoke about the upcoming vote of the City Council to approve the contract of Mira Mesa Community Park Phase 2 to PCL Construction.
- 5. Reports
 - a. Report of the Chair
 - i. Planning Group recognition on the docket at City Council for tomorrow.
 - ii. Mail: NORA regarding 2 items:
 - 1. traffic signal upgrades at Mira Mesa Blvd and Camino Ruiz
 - 2. El Cuervo Adobe Interpretive Signs & Fence Replacement Project
 - b. Community Planners Committee
 - i. Blueprint San Diego will be going to the Planning Commission on May 30th
 - c. Los Peñasquitos Canyon Preserve Citizens Advisory Committee
 - i. No Update
- 6. Old Business
 - a. None
- 7. New Business
 - a. Appointment of Resident Seat (Action)
 - i. Consensus to defer item.
 - b. Appointment of Business Representative Seat (Action)
 - i. Consensus to defer item.
 - c. Presentation: City of San Diego Epicentre Lease with County of San Diego (Action)
 - i. Linssen motions to support. Tompkins Seconds. Approved (11-0-0)
- 8. Elected Officials/Government Agencies
 - a. United States Congress California 51st District for Sara Jacobs

Mira Mesa Community Planning Group Draft Meeting Minutes

- i. No representative
- b. California Senate District 40 Mark Schaefer for Brian Jones
 - i. No representative
- c. California Assembly District 78 Miki Holmes for Chris Ward
 - i. No representative
- d. San Diego County Board of Supervisors District 3 Becca Smith for Terra Lawson-Remer
 - i. No representative
- e. San Diego Mayor's Office Michaela Valk for Todd Gloria
 - i. The appointment of Asst. Chief Scott Wahl will be going before the City Council on June 7th
 - ii. Mayor's proposed budget will be going before the City Council for adoption in early June.
 - iii. The Regional Taskforce for the Homeless Point in Time Count results have been released.
- f. San Diego City Council District 6 Jermaine Rocacorba for Kent Lee
 - i. Councilmember Lee was present to report.
 - Funding requests for Carroll Canyon Road to state and federal delegation being requested
 - 2. Jermaine will be leaving District 6. Ana Serrano will be the new representative
 - 3. Gold Coast Drive is close to last phase
 - 4. Wagenheim is one-year behind with hopes of June 28 completion for the Wagenheim portion
 - 5. Fiscal Year 2025 Budget is currently under review and consideration
- g. MCAS Miramar
 - i. No representative
- 9. Adjourn: 8:31pm