

# **Meeting Minutes**

# Tuesday, June 4, 2024 In Person Meeting: 4 – 6:00 PM Civic Center Plaza, 1200 3rd Ave, 4<sup>th</sup> Floor Conf. Room San Diego, CA 92101

### **Meeting Minutes**

#### Members:

Cindy Lin (D1), Josh Dean (D2), Mahayala Slackerelli (D3), Madison Swayne (D4), Alexa Marie Kerr (D5), Kelly Lyndon (D6), Whitney Pearce (D7), Elisa Velasquez (D9), Jason Anderson (Mayoral), JD Weidman (Mayoral), Kelly Mills (Mayoral), Amy Ly (Mayoral), Tanisha-Jean Martin (Mayoral), Cristina Marquez (Mayoral)Staff Liaison: Shelby Busó

## Item 1: Call to Order

Marissa Westerfield called the meeting to order at 4:00 p.m.

### Item 2: Roll Call

Marissa Westerfield called roll: (members in attendance)

Board Member	Seat	Attendance
Cristina Marquez	Mayoral	Yes
Tanisha-Jean Martin	Mayoral	Yes
Amy Ly	Mayoral	Yes
Kelly Mills	Mayoral	Yes
JD Weidman	Mayoral	Yes
Jason Anderson	Mayoral	Yes
Cindy Lin	D1	Yes
Josh Dean	D2	Yes
<mark>Mahayla</mark> Slackerelli	D3	Yes
Madison Swayne	D4	Yes
Alexa Marie Kerr	D5	No
Kelly Lyndon	D6	Yes
Whitney Pearce	D7	Yes
Vacant	D8	Х
Elisa Velasquez	D9	No

## Item 3: Introductory Remarks: City Staff

Marissa Westerfield introduced staff present, Heather Werner, Joe Whitaker, Hector Gomez, Jamie Duran, Randy Wilde. Explained purpose of body and connection protocol.

Randy Wilde made opening statements on behalf of the Mayor.

Heather Werner made opening statements on behalf of Sustainability & Mobility

## Item 4: Information Item: Board Administration

Marissa Westerfield explained communication and admiration of the body.

## Item 5: Action Item: Elections of Chair

Marissa Westerfield explained the duties of chair and vice-chair and opened the floor to nominations and volunteers.

Tanisha-Jean Martin nominated herself and made a statement

Kelly Lyndon nominated herself and made a statement

Marissa opened the floor for comment. Jason Anderson seconded the nomination for Tanisha and made supporting statements

Madison Swayne arrived. Marissa noted that she is not yet sworn in and may not vote.

Open discussion regarding nominees and their respective qualifications.

Dr. Lin suggested one-year terms for chair and vice-chair

It was noted that current terms for <u>mayoral appointees</u> <u>all members</u> expire 8/<del>25/</del>2024<u>and</u> <u>other members 08/2025</u>

Kelly withdrew her nomination in support of Tanisha

Board Member	Seat	Vote
Cristina Marquez	Mayoral	Tanisha-Jean
Tanisha-Jean Martin	Mayoral	Tanisha-Jean
Amy Ly	Mayoral	Tanisha-Jean
Kelly Mills	Mayoral	Tanisha-Jean
JD Weidman	Mayoral	Tanisha-Jean
Jason Anderson	Mayoral	Tanisha-Jean
Cindy Lin	D1	Tanisha-Jean
Josh Dean	D2	Tanisha-Jean
<mark>Mahayla</mark> Slackerelli	D3	Tanisha-Jean
Madison Swayne	D4	Tanisha-Jean
Alexa Marie Kerr	D5	-
Kelly Lyndon	D6	Tanisha-Jean
Whitney Pearce	D7	Tanisha-Jean
Vacant	D8	-
Elisa Velasquez	D9	Tanisha-Jean

Vote

Tanisha-Jean Martin elected as board chair, unanimously by all members present.

## Item 6: Action Item: Election of Vice Chair

Tanisha-Jean opened nominations for vice-chair.

Council President pro tem LaCava arrived and made opening statements.

Jason nominated Cristina.

Dr. Lin nominated Kelly Lyndon.

Tanisha-Jean opened the floor to statements and candidate statements.

Open discussion regarding nominees and their respective qualifications.

Board Member	Seat	Vote
Cristina Marquez	Mayoral	Kelly Lyndon
Tanisha-Jean Martin	Mayoral	-
Amy Ly	Mayoral	Kelly Lyndon
Kelly Mills	Mayoral	Kelly Lyndon
JD Weidman	Mayoral	-
Jason Anderson	Mayoral	Cristina Marquez
Cindy Lin	D1	Kelly Lyndon
Josh Dean	D2	Kelly Lyndon
<mark>Mahayla</mark> Slackerelli	D3	Cristina Marquez
Madison Swayne	D4	-
Alexa Marie Kerr	D5	-
Kelly Lyndon	D6	Kelly Lyndon
Whitney Pearce	D7	Kelly Lyndon
Vacant	D8	-
Elisa Velasquez	D9	-

Tanisha-Jean suspended voting due to Kelly Lyndon receiving a majority

## Item 7: Discussion Item: Board By-laws

Heather Werner introduced the purpose and procedure of creating by-laws

Chair asks for volunteers to form by-laws subcommittee

Jason, Kelly L, Kelly M. Whitney volunteered.

Tanisha-Jean moved to form subcommittee with above members, Jason seconded Kelly Lyndon to chair as assigned by chair.

Motion passed unanimously.

# Item 8: Discussion Item: Schedule for future meetings

Staff to facilitate doodle pole.

# Item 9: Non-Agenda Public Comment

None

## Item 11: Adjournment

Tanisha-Jean adjourned the meeting at 5:26 p.m.

The next meeting is scheduled for July 19 at 10:30, 2024.

## MEETING MATERIALS

This meeting agenda and any meeting materials can be found on the Climate Board webpage as they become available. <u>https://www.sandiego.gov/sustainability-mobility/climate-</u> <u>action/advisory-committees/climate-advisory-</u> <u>board#:~:text=The%20Climate%20Advisory%20Board%20shall,stated%20goals%20in%20t</u> hese%20areas

THE LINK TO JOIN THE WEBINAR BY COMPUTER, TABLET, OR SMARTPHONE IS: https://sandiego.zoomgov.com/j/1607255243

ON TAP MOBILE +16692545252,,1607255243# US (San Jose) +16692161590,,1607255243# US (San Jose)

TO JOIN BY TELEPHONE:

- +1 669 254 5252 US (San Jose)
- +1 669 216 1590 US (San Jose)
- +1 415 449 4000 US (US Spanish Line)
- +1 646 828 7666 US (New York)
- +1 646 964 1167 US (US Spanish Line)
- +1 551 285 1373 US (New Jersey)
- 833 568 8864 US Toll-free

# HOW TO SPEAK TO A PARTICULAR ITEM OR DURING NON-AGENDA PUBLIC COMMENT:

### VIA VIRTUAL PLATFORM

When the Chair introduces the item you would like to comment on (or indicates it is time for Non-Agenda Public Comment), raise your hand by either tapping the "Raise Your Hand" button on your computer, tablet, or Smartphone, or by dialing \*9 on your phone. You will be taken in the order in which you raised your hand. You may only speak once on a particular item. When the Chair indicates it is your turn to speak, click the unmute prompt that will appear on your computer, tablet or Smartphone, or dial \*6 on your phone.

### WRITTEN COMMENT

Webform: Comment on Agenda items and Non-Agenda Public Comment may be submitted using the webform indicating the agenda item number for which you wish to submit your comment. Comments received by 11:00 AM the day of the meeting will be distributed to the Climate Advisory Board and posted online with the meeting materials. All webform comments are limited to 200 words. Comments received after the deadlines described above but before the item is called will be submitted into written record for the relevant item. Please go to the Climate Advisory Board website for further instructions.

### Written Materials

Instead of submitting written materials as an attachment to the webform, you may submit via U.S. Mail to Attn: Boards and Commissions/ Climate Advisory Board, 202 C Street, 11th Floor, San Diego, CA 92101. Materials submitted via U.S. Mail must be received the business day prior to the meeting to be distributed to the Climate Advisory Board.

#### WATCH THE MEETING

The public may watch the meeting live using the zoom webinar platform or view a recording of the meeting 24 to 48 hours after the meeting depending upon technical streaming issues. Recordings can be found at: <u>https://www.sandiego.gov/sustainability-mobility/climate-action/climateadvisory-board</u>