C.H.A.P.C. MINUTES - April 4, 2022

- 1 In the Chairman's absence, the First vice-Chairman, as acting Chairman, called meeting to order at 6:35PM and called the roll. A quorum was present.
- 2 There were no corrections to the minutes of March 7, 2022.
- 3 The 2022 Election sub-Committee chair accepted the gavel, reported the election results, and seated new members. Departing members stepped down from the Committee.
- 4 The First vice-Chairman called the roll. Asma Abdi, Rahmo Abdi, Marcellus Anderson, Scott Anglim, Dan Castañon, María Córtez, Francisco García, Brian Green-Carson, Edwin Lohr, Denisse López, Mazda Mehraz, David Nelson, Phuòng Nguyễn, John Segóvia, Brendon Sickler, Randy Torres-van Vleck, Carolyn Tran, and Jim Varnadore were present to form a quorum. Paula Ezcurra and Kenneth Furukuwa were absent.
- 5 The agenda were accepted as tendered.
- 6 Council District-9 staff member Ben Mendoza, Supervisorial District-2 staff member Ana Laura Mendoza offered staff comments.
- 7 Alma Escobedo, Steve Lamprides, Paul Jamason, offered off-agenda comment. María Córtez and Francisco García offered Committee comment.
- 8.1 The Chair announced a vacancy in the District-1 2023 seat and called for nominations. Mr. Evihn W. Vasily asked to be nominated. Edwin offered and Brian seconded the nomination. The Committee voted 14/0/0 and Mr. Vasily was seated.
- 8.2 The Chair introduced a City request for a new stop sign at the intersection of Menlo Avenue and Olive Street. After discussion Brian offered and Dan seconded a motion that the Committee recommend approval. The Committee voted 13/1/0 and the motion passed.
- 8.3 Mr. Shariar Afshar discussed his recent purchase of the vacant lot at the Northwest corner of El Cajon Boulevard and 43rd Street, and asked the Committee to suggest short-, medium-, and long-term uses.
- 8.4 City staff member Monica Arredondo from SDFD offered a power point presentation about a fire station planned for the intersection of Fairmount Avenue and 47th Street. Deputy Fire Chief Gibson and staff members Elif Cetin, J. Arnhart, F. Macdowell, F. Dabbous participated. Steve Lamprides and Linda Coffman spoke against the selected site and against the project cost.
- 8.5 The Chair called for volunteers on the Officer Search sub-Committee and explained the procedure. Randy Torres-van Vleck, Rahmo Abdi, and Marcellus Anderson volunteered and were appointed.
- 9 There was no additional Committee comment.
- 10 The meeting was adjourned at 8:20PM to reconvene at 6:30PM on Monday, May 2, 2022.