

CHAPC P.O. Box 5859 City Heights, CA 92165 (619) 266-7161

April 22, 2022

MEMORANDUM FOR: City of San Diego Planning Department

From: Outgoing Committee Chairman Russ Connelly Subject: Annual report for the 2021-22 Committee year

At the beginning of the term, the Committee was composed of the following: (one seat: Youth unfilled)

Jim Varnadore Denisse Lopez Ana Gonzalez Patty Vaccariello Scott Paquette Rosa Calvario **Russ Connelly Andrew Benavides** Vanessa Erickson Francisco Garcia Edwin Lohr Roddy Jerome Maria Cortez Wendy Miller Brian Green-Carson Blair Overstreet Rahmo Abdi Michael Rossler David Nelson **Jake Banfield-Weir**

Randy Torres-Van Vleck

At the April 2021 committee seating, Ana Gonzalez, Wendy Miller, Blair Overstreet, Michael Rossler and Maria Cortez left the committee. Incoming representatives Asma Abdi, Scott Anglim, Krista Berry-Ortega, Simonei Medina, Mazda Mehraz and Kenneth (Keni) Furukawa were seated for a filled committee of 22 members. At the May 2021 meeting, no one was selected as Secretary, Brian Green-Carson was selected as Second Vice-Chair, Jake Banfield-Weir was selected as First Vice-Chair and Russ Connelly was selected as Chair. Keni Furukawa volunteered in June 2021 to be the Secretary. A change was made to the First Vice Chair position in December with Jim Varnadore taking the position due to Jake's departure.

Committee Changes: In May, Vanessa Erickson's At-Large seat was vacated due to her resignation and Scott Paquette (D3) moved from the area rendering his seat vacant. In June, Maria Cortez was appointed to fill the At-Large seat. In July, Marcellus Anderson was appointed to fill the District 3 seat. In September, Andrew Benavides' Business seat was vacated due to lack of attendance. In October, Krista Berry-Ortega resigned due to a move from the area. She was replaced by appointee Phoung Nguyen in November. The Business seat was filled in November by Michael (Mick) Rossler. In November, Jake Banfield-Weir moved from the area and resigned his At-Large seat; Paula Ezcurra was appointed in December to fill his seat. Roddy Jerome moved out of area and resigned his seat in February 2022. Simonei Medina resigned her Youth seat in August and John Segovia was appointed to fill in the rest of her term in January 2022. In August, Denisse Lopez resigned her Youth Seat having graduated and was no longer eligible to serve. At the end of the term, a District 1 seat was vacant (to be filled by the incoming committee) and a Youth seat (22) was still vacant due to lack of candidates coming forward to fill the seat before the upcoming election. That lead to community and committee discussions as outlined below.

Among the major actions and accomplishments of the term were: Three meetings regarding the viability and continuation of Youth Seats. After much discussion and debate, the Committee petitioned the City to amend the committee's bylaws to include youth to 24 years of age which was approved in March 2022 and was incorporated in the 2022 elections. Input was given to the City regarding revisions to City policies and Development Code updates as well as the bi-yearly CIP review. Meetings and agendas were translated in Spanish with the help of the Planning Department at the request of the community. The September 2021 meeting was adjourned due to a holiday. All 2021-2022 committee meetings were held via Zoom.

At the end of the term, the following committee members (20) remained seated: (Two vacancies; Youth and D1)

Francisco Garcia	Jim Varnadore	Patty Vaccariello	Marcellus Anderson	Rosa Calvario
Russ Connelly	Randy Tores-Van Vleck	Mick Rossler	Edwin Lohr	Maria Cortez
John Segovia	Asma Abdi	Keni Furukawa	Brian Green-Carson	Phoung Nguyen
Rahmo Abdi	Mazda Mehraz	David Nelson	Paula Ezcurra	Scott Anglim

The actions throughout the year were reported in meeting minutes, copies of which are appended hereto and incorporated as the annual report for The City Heights Area Planning Committee for year 2021-2022.