

CHAPC P.O. Box 5859 City Heights, CA 92165 (619) 266-7161

April 14, 2021

MEMORANDUM FOR:

City of San Diego Planning Department

From:

Committee Chairman Russ Connelly

Subject:

Annual report for the 2020-21 Committee year

The Committee began the year with the following 21 members (one School/Non-Profit seat unfilled):

Brenda Diaz

Iuan Pablo Sanchez

Lisa Nguyen Rosa Calvario Hamdi Noor Blair Overstreet David Bowen Russ Connelly Roddy Jerome

Roddy Jerome Maria Cortez Dhaha Nur Michael Rossler Patty Vaccariello Jose Hernandez Wendy Miller

David Nelson

Scott Paquette Francisco Garcia Brian Green-Carson Jake Banfield-Weir

Ana Gonzalez

At the March 2020 election, Patty Vaccariello was not eligible for election due to reaching her 8 year limit. She ran on the ballot, but did not receive the needed votes to be seated. Lisa Nguyen, David Bowen, Brenda Diaz, Rose Calvario, Jose Hernandez and Juan Pablo Sanchez were not re-elected to office. Jim Varnadore, Edwin Lohr, Vanessa Erickson, Denisse Lopez, Andrew Beneavides and Randy Torres-Van Vleck were elected to office and seated in April. At the May 2020 meeting, Vanessa Erickson was selected as Secretary, Edwin Lohr was selected as Second Vice-Chair, Maria Cortez was selected as First Vice-Chair and Russ Connelly was selected as Chair.

Committee Changes: In June, Rosa Calvario and Patty Vaccariello were seated by appointment to fill empty seats. In July, Hamdi Noor's Youth seat was vacated due to her graduation. In December, Dhaha Nur' School/Non-Profit seat was vacated due to lack of attendance. His seat was filled in January 2021by Rahmo Abdi. At the end of the term, the Youth seat was still vacant due to lack of candidates coming forward to fill the seat.

At the end of the term, the Committee was composed of the following: (one seat: Youth unfilled)

Denisse Lopez Rosa Calvario Edwin Lohr Blair Overstreet Jim Varnadore Russ Connelly Roddy Jerome Rahmo Abdi Ana Gonzalez Andrew Benavides Maria Cortez Michael Rossler Patty Vaccariello Vanessa Erickson Wendy Miller David Nelson Scott Paquette Francisco Garcia Brian Green-Carson Jake Banfield-Weir

Randy Torres-Van Vleck

Among the major actions and accomplishments of the term were: Action items including memos of input to various City Staff regarding Land Development Code updates, proposed local parking changes, Complete Communities & General Plan Updates. Three Community Input Workshops were held. (Including a session with another planning group regarding a project on an APC boundary). The committee's bylaws were reviewed and updated. Several meetings and agendas were translated in Spanish with the help of the Planning Department at the requests of the community. There was no meeting held in May 2020 due to COVID and a lack of agenda items; the September 2020 was adjourned due the meeting falling on a holiday. All 2020-2021 committee meetings were held via Zoom.

The actions throughout the year were reported in meeting minutes, copies of which are appended hereto and incorporated as the annual report for The City Heights Area Planning Committee for year 2020-21.