OTAY MESA-NESTOR COMMUNITY PLANNING GROUP MEETING MINUTES March 13, 2019

Members Present: District 16 Bobby Hicks

District 1 John C. Swanson

District 2 Sam Mendoza Members Absent:

District 3 Armond Moore
District 4 Patty Swanson
District 5 Sabine Prather
District 10 Bob Mikloski
District 11 Albert Velasquez
District 15 Walt Zumstein

District 7 Robert Broomfield

District 9 Jacki Farrington Vacant District Seats:

District 12 Carlos Sanchez

District 6

District 13 Brian McGonagill

District 8

District 14 Sam Baltazar

Guests Present: Please see the OMNCPG Secretary for the sign-in sheet.

- 1. **Call to Order/Introduction of Members:** Otay Mesa Nestor Community Planning Group (OMNCPG) Vice-Chair, Jacki Farrington, called the meeting to order at 6:35 p.m. She welcomed all Board members and members of the community to the meeting.
- 2. **Approval of the Minutes:** A motion was made by Patty Swanson to approve the minutes of the February 13, 2019, OMNCPG meeting. Motion approval was unanimous.
- 3. **Non-Agenda Public Comments:** (2-minute limit per speaker).
 - a. Bobby Hicks mentioned the crosswalk markings for Berry Elementary at Saturn Blvd. and Rimbey Avenue were removed and have not yet been replaced.
 - b. Sabine Prather attended the City of San Diego Community Planners Committee Meeting downtown. She mentioned that proposed Parking Reduction Requirements in Transit Priority Areas by the City Council was the main concern. She also mentioned that parking is free if you contact them ahead of time.
- 4. **San Diego Police Department Report:** SDPD Officer Aida Liufau, aliufau@pd.sandiego.gov (619) 424-0412
 - a. Officer Liufau introduced the new San Diego police Department Southern Division Captain Manuel Del Torro, and she also introduced Lt. Juan Sanchez.
 - 1. Captain Del Torro then spoke and thanked the OMNCPG for our concern for our community.
- 5. **California State Assembly, 80th District report:** Lucero Chavez, Field Representative, 619-338-8090 <u>lucero.chavez@asm.gov</u>. No report.
- 6. **Council District 8 Report:** Gerardo Ramirez, Council Representative, 619-236-6688 gramirezborj@sandiego.gov
 - a. Gerardo provided handouts from Councilmember Vivian Moreno's office.
 - b. He stated that on March 14, 2019, the City Council approved the city-wide Transit Priority Areas Multifamily Residential Parking Standards for Multi-Family Housing Units in Transit Priority Areas.
 - c. He said that the City of San Diego Otay Valley Regional Park Citizens Advisory Committee (CAC) stills needs an additional member.

- d. He also mentioned that the Fiscal Year 2020 Recreation Center Budgets were just proposed. It was noted that the Carmel Mountain Valley budget was 13 times larger than the South Bay budget. Councilmember Moreno requested an amendment explaining how equity in this budget would be demonstrated in all parts of the City.
- 7. **Office of the San Diego City Attorney Report:** Mark Robertson, Deputy City Attorney, 619-553-5500. No report.
- 8. **Sub-Committee Reports:**
 - A. Volunteer Code Compliance, By-Laws, and Parks and Recreation subcommittees. No report.
 - B. Election Sub-Committee: As required by the by-laws, the Election Sub-Committee prepared a ballot and conducted an election of OMNCPG members at this meeting.
 - 1. The following district seats were up for election for a four-year term on the OMNCPG:
 - District 9, District 11, District 12, District 13, District 15, District 16.
 - 2. The following incumbent OMNCPG district representatives applied for and have been found qualified for candidacy in accordance with the OMNCPG By-Laws, and will be running for election at this meeting for the following district seats for a four-year term:

District 9. Jacki Farrington
District 11. Alberto Velasquez
District 12. Carlos Sanchez
District 13. Brian McGonagill
District 15. Walt Zumstein
District 16. Bobby Hicks

Notes: No other candidates applied for election. Also, both the District 6 and the District 8 seats remain vacant, and the OMNCPG chair is seeking qualified candidates to apply for election to represent these districts.

- 3. The Election Sub-Committee announced the election results: All candidates were re-elected for another four-year term.
- 9. **Chair's Report:** No report.
- 10. **City Planner Report:** Elizabeth Ocampo Vivero, Senior Planner, 619-236-6301, eocampo@sandiego.gov. No report.
- 11. **Adjournment:** Sabine Prather made a motion to adjourn at 6:53 p.m. Motion approval was unanimous.

Respectfully submitted by John C. Swanson, Secretary