

MEMORANDUM

DATE:	March 29, 2024
TO:	David Nisleit, Chief, San Diego Police Department
FROM:	Gloria Tran, Chair, Commission on Police Practices
SUBJECT:	Request for information regarding police pursuits

One of the purposes of the Commission on Police Practices, as outlined in the City's Municipal Code (26.1101), is to evaluate and review Police Department policies, practices, training, and protocols, and represent the community in making recommendations for changes. The Commission is undertaking review of the Department's vehicle pursuit policy and compliance. An Ad Hoc Committee has been formed to lead our research and review.

To support this analysis, the Commission is requesting information from the San Diego Police Department related to SDPD Policy 1.03 – Traffic – Pursuit Procedures including copies of records and training materials.

Copies of records:

- 1. The data sheets required on all police pursuits, including non-collision pursuits which include both the California Highway Patrol Pursuit Report and the SDPD Pursuit Data Sheet. (CHP-187A/SDPD Pursuit Data Sheets)
- The corresponding documentation post-pursuit review and analysis reports

 compiled by the Fleet Safety Sergeant.
- 3. The collision investigation of record on all injury, and non-injury traffic collisions resulting from pursuits that occur within the City of San Diego compiled by the SDPD Traffic Unit.

The records request is for a five-year period beginning 1/1/2019 through 12/31/2023.

Training materials:

1. Training documents and PowerPoint presentations used to train officers on the vehicle pursuit policy.

Please send the requested materials to the Commission's Offices at 525 B Street, Suite 1725, San Diego, CA 92101 and email the interim Executive Director at <u>scarboroughd@sandiego.gov</u> Feel free to contact me or our executive director if you have questions. Thank you.

cc: Paul Connelly, Executive Assistant Chief
 Jeffrey Peterson, Captain, Internal Affairs
 Duane E. Bennett, Outside Counsel, Commission on Police Practices
 Members of the Commission on Police Practices